Comment are off

Two Flour Bluff High School students named Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced the names of the Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Rachael Huang and Devin Schwartz, Flour Bluff High School seniors, are among the nearly 16,000 students nationwide to be recognized for the academic achievement. 

In addition to excelling academically, Rachel excels on the Flour Bluff High School swim team as well. She’s a three-time State Meet Qualifier and has achieved various recognitions as a member of the team. Devin is part of the University Prep HS program at Flour Bluff High School and takes most of his classes at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. When he graduates in 2021, he will also be graduating with a number of college credits under his belt.

The National Merit Scholarship program is designed to recognize and honor students who are scholastic champions and to encourage them to continue their pursuit of academic excellence. The competitive program provides the opportunity for students to be awarded a scholarship for a college or university. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of high school seniors across the United States and includes entrants in each state who score the highest on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. According the NMSC, a Semifinalist must also have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official and write an essay. Semifinalist must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. 

Flour Bluff High School senior, Annika Harl was also recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program as a Commended Student.